The Tasting Room, Lower Parel: 2.5/5

The Tasting Room Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

I was really in a dilemma when it came to writing  review for the Tasting Room. I mean, I heard so much about it that my expectations were at d highest level but the experience was that of a mixed one. So here goes my explanation for a 2 star rating:

Went here on a weekday for lunch with my colleague as we had heard the raving reviews about the place. If you haven’t been here before then look for Good Earth as its located within the store itself. Hard to locate otherwise. Thankfully we easily got a table for 2.

Ambience wise the place is very Royal and elegant. The interiors are plush and agrees with the fact it’s located in home interior store. With chandeliers and neat seating, the place gives a very classy look.

We started by ordering Minestrone Soup – hoping you cannot go wrong with this but to our disappointment we were proved wrong. I mean it’s a known fact even in layman’s terms that minestrone soup has veggies n pasta but this one lacked the latter and was hot water instead. We couldn’t finish it- it was so bad!!!

My next favorite on the menu usually is Barbeque Chicken Wings which I have had a wonderful experience at Indigo Deli and Cafe Mangi. Here, I had to rethink my favorite appetizer – the quantity was minimal for one thing and the size of the chicken wings made them look like baby chick wings!! So small!! And the taste was just okay, edible but lacked any kind of wow factor.

The only Savior for the day was when we asked them their recommendation for main course and picked pan seared John Dory. Brilliant – absolutely delicious. If only all the dishes were so amazing. The fish was soft and melted right in my mouth..!! The taste was so great that we hogged onto it and it was over in 2 mins. Just loved it and that’s the reason why I will give this place an extra star over one. The dessert was chocolate excess which was like chocolate mousse with marshmallow. Even this was on their recommendation and totally worth it. I guess I should have gone only for House Specials for a better overall experience.

The hospitality was just okay, nothing worth mentioning. Quantity was very very less and can definitely be worked upon. This made it so not value for money unlike other places like Indigo Delicatessen where quantity is great for this price I pay.

Overall, the experience started on a very bad and disappointing note but  the day was saved with John Dory and chocolate excess. Definitely not a must visit place.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

